Built in the 12th century, the Montechino castle is located in Gropparello, Piacenza, and enjoys a dominant position on Mount Occhino.
It was initially owned by the Confalonieri family, to whom was granted the feudal investiture of the land in 1393. The history of this prestigious property stems from 1441, when the Duke of Milan invested the Nicelli family with the county of Montechino. The Farnese, a powerful family of the Italian Renaissance, and the Marazzani counts were also owners. In 1955 it was turned into a monastery. It is now privately owned.
Renovated several times over the centuries, in the last twenty-five years it has undergone a thorough restoration in strict respect of its history and original structure, combining the allure of historic Tuscan residences mixed with ancient maisons provencales.
The castle is located on the first hills of Piacenza, in a perfect state of preservation and maintenance, and consists of 1100 square meters completely independent, in the utmost peace and tranquility, surrounded by 27 hectares of botanical gardens, park with ancient trees, meadows and woods. The property is completed by two residential units consisting of a farmhouse of 300 square metres and a house of 200 square metres used by the caretakers, located before the beautiful gate of the park.
A long driveway leads to the entrance of the main unit. This historic house built in stone, has a two-storey structure on a rectangular plan, with a square corner tower edged with Guelph merlons. In the gable you can still see the original joints of the bridge and drawbridge.
From the main entrance to the castle, a charming flight of steps leads to the heart of the residence, where a charming century-old olive tree stands in the centre of a charming inner courtyard. Through the arches on one side of the garden, you reach a large patio.
On the right, two different entrances lead respectively to the entrance steps to a bedroom with parquet floor, still equipped with an antique stove, with a private bathroom with bathtub, and to a second annexe also equipped with sleeping area, antechamber and bathroom. From the courtyard a second staircase leads to a secondary access and opens into a wonderful living room with fireplace, parquet floor and exposed beams, which is connected to the library studio with fireplace and mahogany bookcases.
The side wing of the castle has two floors. On the lower level is the large Provencal-style kitchen with simple white tiles, large fireplace and wood-burning oven, which leads to the laundry room and two double bedrooms with bathrooms. Completing the floor is a large dining room with terracotta floors and vaulted stone ceilings and the charming, immaculately maintained cellars with internal well and stone walls.
On the upper floor the living area includes a private sitting room, a cosy tea room with exposed beams and a bathroom. The sleeping area includes a master bedroom with parquet floors, internal fireplace and access to a private bathroom with tub, communicating with a second bedroom. A wooden staircase leads up to the attic, from which there is further access via a ladder to the terrace of the turret with a view over the entire valley.